Archived from ListenSmart.com, January 26, 2004. Historical; not current advice. Software, prices and links are as they were then.
Source: Wayback Machine capture.
Software FAQ
All I want to do is listen to music. What should I do? How do I get songs from my CDs to my computer? How do I enable cookies within my browser? How can I make my own CD of MP3s? Why will none of the CD rippers work for me? Why does my MP3 cut off in the middle of the song? How much does all this software cost? When I try to play an MP3, it just shows the Quicktime logo and nothing happens. What is wrong? How do I change my default MP3 player? What are playlists and how do I create them? What is CDDB?
Q: All I want to do is listen to music. What should I do?
A: First, check to see if you already have a player loaded on your machine. If not, choose one of the players to download. Once you have installed a player and downloaded your favorite ListenSmart.com MP3s, you're ready to play your music. Be sure to remember the folder in which you've stored the music so that you can access it easily from your player.
Q: How do I get songs from my CDs to my computer?
A: The easiest way to transfer songs from your audio CDs onto your computer is by using one of the All-in-One programs. Once you have downloaded an All-in-One program, insert a CD into your CD-ROM drive and choose the menu option that shows the recording device. Next, check off those song files that you want to convert to MP3s and click on the "Start" button.
Q: How do I enable cookies within my browser?
A:
To enable Cookies, please find your browser listed below and follow the directions.
For Internet Explorer 4.x
- Select Views - Internet Options
- The Internet Options window appears
- Select the Advanced tab
- Scroll down to Security section and find Cookies
- Under Cookies select "Always Accept Cookies"
- Select "OK"
For Internet Explorer 5.x
- Select Views - Internet Options
- The Internet Options window appears
- Select Security tab
- Click on Default Level button
- Select "OK"
For Netscape 4.x
- Select Edit - Preferences
- The Preferences Window pops up
- Select Advanced
- Select Accept all cookies
- Select "OK"
Q: How can I make my own CD of MP3s?
A: Unless you have a CD-ROM burner installed on your computer, you will not be able create your own CDs. However, through SmartCompilation CDs, you can create your own greatest hits CD containing about 100 of your favorite ListenSmart.com MP3s.
Q: Why will none of the CD rippers work for me?
A: The most likely reason that more than one CD ripper would not work for you is that your CD ROM drive is incompatible with audio CDs. Check with the manufacturer to confirm the device's capabilities.
Why does my MP3 cut off in the middle of the song?
A: This is most likely due to an error during the downloading process (or the file is damaged in some way). First, try downloading the file again. If it still is not working properly, try downloading another MP3 file.
How much does all this software cost?
A: The cost of the software varies for each product. The software packages featured on ListenSmart.com range from freeware (completely free to download and use), to shareware (free for trial, but charge to register the product), to pre-pay programs. Obviously, many of the programs that charge for registration offer a lot more cool features, and usually will allow for free upgrades any time a new version is released.
When I try to play an MP3, it just shows the Quicktime logo and nothing happens. What is wrong?
A: This happens because some older versions of Quicktime do not support MP3 files. The solution is to download one of the recommended MP3 players. Or, if you have already done so, you may have to change your default player.
How do I change my default MP3 player?
A: Internet Explorer (for Windows) | Internet Explorer (for Macintosh) | Netscape Navigator (for Windows) | Netscape Navigator (for Macintosh)
Changing the default MP3 player in Internet Explorer (Windows).
From your Desktop double click on My Computer. Pull down the "View" menu from your toolbar and click on "Folder Options." Go to the "File Types" tab and click the "New Type..." button.
Fill in the following information (make sure you type everything exactly as you see it): Description of type: M3U file Associated extension: .m3u Content Type (MIME): audio/x-mpegurl Under "Actions:", click the "New..." button.
Explorer (or another program) may already recognize this as a current "Playlist" setting. If this happens click "Cancel" in the New File Type box. Now scroll through the file types to find and delete the M3U entry. Try to add the M3U type again.
Next, in the "New Action" box, fill in the following (make sure you type everything exactly as you see it):
Action: open
Application to perform action: "C:\Program Files[player you wish to make the default][player's name].EXE" "%1" Be sure the write the player's file name and location correctly. Also, be sure to remember the "%1" at the end.
Changing the default MP3 player in Internet Explorer (Mac).
Go to Edit >Preferences > Helper Apps.
Add the following entry (make sure you type everything exactly as you see it):
Description: Streamed MP3s Extension: .m3u MIME Type: audio/x-mpegurl File Type: M3U File Type Application: [place application name here] How to Handle: "View With Application" Application: [choose the application here]
Now when you click on a "HiFi" or "LoFi" link at ListenSmart.com, IE will launch the desired application and play the M3U file.
Changing the default MP3 player in Netscape Navigator (Windows).
Go to Edit->Preferences->Navigator->Applications
Press "New". Add "m3u" to the File Extension (Suffixes) Field. It is possible that Navigator recognizes this as a current "Playlist" setting. Next, in the MIME Type Field write "audio/x-mpegurl".
Choose the desired MP3 Player under Handled By Application Window and press "OK".
Now, next time you try to play an m3u file it will locate the MP3 Player and launch it.
Changing the default MP3 player in Netscape Navigator (Mac).
To configure Netscape, you need to click on Edit > Preferences > Applications.
Add the following entry (make sure you type everything exactly as you see it):
Description: Streamed MP3s MIME Type: audio/x-mpegurl Suffixes: .m3u
In the box labeled "Handled by:" select the button marked "Application:". Click on the "Choose" button. Locate your desired player on your hard drive and select it. Now click OK.
Now when you click on a "HiFi" or "LoFi" link on ListenSmart.com, Netscape will launch desired player and play the M3U file.
If you continue to have trouble changing your default player, you may want to consider downloading the software from the Internet. The settings will automatically change during the download process.
What are playlists and how do I create them?
A: Coming soon....
What is CDDB?/B>
A: Coming soon....
